Classic Film Review: It Came from Outer Space (1953)

The Classic Film Review Concept

I enjoy classic films – mainly I enjoy spotting old telephones. If you are keen to be all nostalgic and retro, I offer my review of some classic films to assist you in your endeavours. If you do not like old films much, hopefully my reviews will persuade you that there are some movie gems out there regardless of the sometimes clunky dialogue and special effects.

It Came from Outer Space (1953)

A spaceship from another world crashes in the Arizona desert, and only an amateur stargazer (John) and a schoolteacher (Ellen) suspect alien influence when the local townsfolk begin to act strange. The aliens have actually just crash-landed and need to pick up some spare parts from the local hardware store for repairs. They are able to take the form of humans to more easily blend in (however give themselves away by walking a little stiffly and speaking in monotone), as in their natural form they are horrendous. No famous names in this one. You may choose to pick-up on or ignore the communist subtext, that is the communists are not out to take over the world. Some gripping moments, a fancy car and even some alien slime.  Limited telephone spotting.  4 out of 5 stars.

2 responses

  1. You just brought back a lovely memory for me. When I was just out of high school, my family would have a “classic b-grade sci-fi” movie night once a week. We’d hire out movies like this one, and The Thing, and all eat pop corn, and just laugh. I had completely forgotten all about those days! I’m going to read more of your reviews, and it may just be time to revive that tradition…

    1. I am glad to have a fellow classic film friend out there Naomi. I hope you enjoy reviving your tradition…sounds like a very decent way to spend an evening.

Leave a Reply

